US Flag

Reviews and Testimonials

Get answers to your questions and tell us how you feel!

We are committed to providing the highest level of customer satisfaction and would like to hear from you. All reviews will be published within 24 hours, and we will respond to any concerns or complaints immediately.

Click here to submit your review


Submit your review
  * Required Field
 

I liked the class

Dec 07, 2014 by Ralph Munoz

I felt the course was very informational It was a little long. Took me about 9 hours to complete but worth it.

Response: Hi Ralph! Than you so much for sharing your experience, we are happy you enjoyed your course! The lengths of the courses are a minimum set by the state, so some students do end up taking longer. Please let us know if there is anything else we can do for you!


Bad

Dec 01, 2014 by Jesus Garcia

First off, the videos they force you to watch are very bad. Extremely low quality videos. The voice is not synchronized with the video at all. Each of the slide are timed so that you have a minimum amount of time in each slide, and that is ok, my problem with this is that you must spend excessive amount of time in each slide. I had read the entire slide when the timer is barely half ways to 0. It is very frustrating to have to restart a whole 2 hour section if you accidentally miss too many questions at the end of the section. I do not recommend this course at all.

Response: Hi Jesus,
Thank you very much for sharing your course experience. We apologize for the frustrations you experienced in the course. We are currently working on revising our course to include higher quality videos and we are reviewing page timers. We hope to have an updated version approved soon that addresses all of your concerns! Thank you again for sharing your thoughts.


Getting my certificate ??

Nov 09, 2014 by Deanner Peake

The experience with the voice recordings was not the best system at all . I became so frustrated that I just gave up on the course . To my surprise was told to pay again to re-register . Then, had to start the course all over again ... bummer l ___ l ... I have finished and would like to know when I am going to receive my certificate . Unfortunately I would never refer anyone to this service ... I do not think charging someone who gave up because the system was just not good is not cool... If there is any background noise it interferes if you have a cold it interferes with the voice bio metrics ... The second time I did the course I did it while at work and I used the keystroke option which I must say was waaaaaaay better than the voice options I was finished in about 3 days ... I am thankful that I will now get the discount but the experience was one i will never forget and not for good reason.

Response: Hi Deanner! Thank you for your review and for taking the time to share your course experience. I will be passing on your comments to our team. We are glad you had a good experience with the keystroke biometrics. The voice biometric system, while very reliable, can cause some users issues if they do not call into the system in time or if they try to speak the numbers too quickly, and I see we did unlock your course four times before we were unable to unlock it again. It looks as though your certificate was mailed on 11/3 so you should be receiving it shortly if you have not already. Please give our support team a call if you have any further questions!


Poor Service I give them an F

Nov 04, 2014 by lauren foster

I wish I could put zero stars. The customer service is horrible. My daughter has waited nearly 3 weeks for her certificate and it still hasn't arrived. Then they said they would put a "rush" on it and that it would be 7 days. USPS from one end of the country to the other is 5-7 days and they are on the same side of the country that we are so how could 7 days be a rush delivery. They should have overnighted it or at the very least priority which would be 2-3 days. Steer clear of this company. There are far better out there that will give good dependable service. Cannot stress enough how bad the customer service is. I would recommend, if you have issues like we did, that you dispute the charge with your credit card company or bank. Just get the charge reversed and move on.

Response: Hi Lauren! Thank you very much for your comments. I will be forwarding them on to our support team for review. Our standard shipping estimates 5-7 days but it can arrive faster, this is just the time we estimate. I do see that we sent out a new certificate on 11/3; if you have any issues receiving the new certificate, please let us know and we will try an expedited shipping option with tracking. We do apologize for the inconvenience and thank you for your time.


Never again

Nov 01, 2014 by Linda

When you sign up for this course they give you a choice of verification by using keyboard strokes or voice verification. I choses voice because I was going to be taking the course primarily from my cell phone. Sometimes, such as in a doctor waiting room or library, I was unable to make the phone call to verify my voice so I would log out of the account then start again when I was able to make the phone call. Unbeknownst to me, this locks you out of the course and if you get locked out twice you FAIL and have to pay and start all over again! I was prompted to call customer service and got the most nasty person in the whole world on the phone. She was rude, unsympathetic, unhelpful and just plain nasty. I asked her if I could switch to keystroke verification and she said I would have to start all over from the beginning! I will never use this company again.

Response: Hi Linda,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. Unfortunately, the regulations for this course require that the user calls within a short amount of time of being given the verification request. Logging out is not an option; if someone else were taking the course for you, for example, they could just log off then have you call in, defeating the purpose of the verification process. Once we unlock one time for this reason, our representatives do explain that requirement, as we are not legally permitted to unlock the course again for the same issue. We do apologize sincerely for the inconvenience, but all providers for this course follow the same regulations and will have the same requirements.

Please let us know if you have any further questions!


Driving record scam

Oct 29, 2014 by Rigoberto Silva

I submitted the form for a driver record needed asap... Right after i submitted i notice a typo error and i called and chat with a person who told me they will fix it.. 2 different person told me the same thing when i got to the 3rd person which was rude, no professionalism with customer service. THey told me i have to pay another 25.95 again.. Of course i wont get any record due to a typo error and now i have to pay again... They just took my money not even trying to help at all..I will never go to this company again... WORST EXPERIENCE EVER.. not even MVA will treat some one like this.... rude..

Response: We apologize sincerely for the inconvenience! Our refund policy clearly states that we do not refund due to mistakes, because we are charged by the state for the mistaken record even if it is not the one you intended to pull. That said, I am happy our support team was able to come up with a solution for you. Please let us know if you have any further issues or questions!


TERRIBLE (NY defensive drivers course)

Oct 29, 2014 by Matthew Loew

This has to be the worst online defensive driving course available. Would not suggest it to anyone. Somehow with a 6 hour course time my computer logged 14 total hours. Took the class for a job opportunity thinking I'd be provided with an online certificate only to find there is a 7-10 day wait. I had to pay an additional 30 dollar fee for overnight shipping to get the certificate on time...we'll see if that work's out. When I politely asked customer supportif there was any other way to provide proof I finished the course I was responded to disrespectfully and told that is the point of a certificate. ABSOLUTELY TERRIBLE. SEEK OTHER ONLINE COURSES.

Response: Hi Matthew,

We apologize for the inconvenience. Unfortunately, this course requires a physical certificate and we are legally unable to provide any sort of online certificate or proof of completion. That said, I have forwarded your comments on to our support management to review your disrespectful treatment. Thank you for taking the time to share your review.


Oregon Safe Motorist Course

Oct 05, 2014 by John Galt

One of the worst defensive driving courses I have EVER taken. Text and questions were very poorly worded and not easily understood, sentence construction was atrocious, context was absurd, punctuation was horrible, spelling also horrible, and in many cases, information was simply not clear and confusing. The final exam was so simple, a moron could of aced the exam. Morons obviously prepared this piece of junk. One would not have had to had one iota of driving experience, nor take the course, to obtain a passing score. THE COURSE WAS A WASTE OF MY TIME ... WORTHLESS. I will be working with my insurance company to get my money back! Don't waste your time! I hope my comments are published; somehow I think they may not be.

Response: Thank you for your review! I have forwarded your comments on to our content team who will take them into consideration during the next review of the course.


Paid TWICE for one test

Oct 04, 2014 by Eliz P

I got locked out of this American safety test because I wasn't able to access my phone quick enough to complete the voice test. Which btw - you have to do CONSTANTLY and they only give you SECONDS to get to your phone and call!!! When I called customer service, the guy I spoke to was incredibly RUDE and not helpful at all. Because I got locked out, the guy said I had to REsign up and REPAY? are you kidding me?!!!!!!!

Response: Hi Elizabeth,

I apologize for the frustration you experienced with your course. We would be happy to look into the issue for you and to see if there is anything we can do to resolve your dissatisfaction. Could you possibly e-mail me at social@amersc.com with your e-mail address and the full name on your account so that I can look into your issue?

Kind Regards,
Lauren K.


Waste of my time and money

Oct 03, 2014 by Grace Chin

I spent 6 plus hrs. On the defensive NYS Defensive Driver course. Made it to the 4th/last module and the biometric test kicked me off the program. I called customer service and they said that I had not log out properly and the internal clock kept running which resulted in a failure.
The failure is the system that is in place. You have 90 seconds to call and verifiy through their biometric system if not you are locked out and can\'t do anything until you call Customer service. The whole point of an online course is to be able to complete it at your pace. I believe I had at least 21 days to complete the course and because \"I did not log out properly\" I was failed. Not only was this a waste of my funds this was a big waste of my time.
Do yourselves a favor and stay away from this site, one step above a \"Nigerian Scam\"

Response: Hi Grace,

We apologize for the issue you experienced with your course.

The voice biometrics are required by the state of New York to determine that the person who is supposed to be taking the course is the person taking the course. The requests appear randomly throughout the course and have strict timers for security and validity purposes and you cannot log out when you receive one. It looks like your account experienced multiple very lengthy timeouts. After the first unlock, our team would have explained the procedures. Unfortunately, due to strict state regulations, we are unable to unlock the course again after that point.

That said, we offer discounted re-registration for customers who are locked out for this reason. I had a customer support representative re-set your course as a courtesy so you can begin the course again if you decide to do so. Please let us know if you have any further issues or questions.


American Safety Council Inc. 1-800-732-4135 5125 Adanson Street, Suite 500 Orlando FL, 32804 USA 3.2 5.0 83 83 I felt the course was very informational It was a little long. Took me about 9 hours to complete but worth it.
Page:
123»
American Safety Council Inc.
5125 Adanson Street, Suite 500 OrlandoFL32804 USA 
 • 1-800-732-4135